Do I Believe in Santa Claus?

Yes.

I grew up watching hundreds of Christmas movies, listened to hundreds of Christmas carols, read loads of Christmas books, and heard more Christmas stories. I have always celebrated Christmas. I was always told by my parents that Santa brought the unwrapped gifts for Christmas, but I did start to grow up. I saw receipts, noticed that Santa used the same wrapping paper as my parents, never heard sleigh bells or reindeer hooves.

So, there wasn’t a single way that a jolly old elf could deliver gifts to children all over the world. Why, in the name of all things festive, would I stick by an ideal that is, by all accounts, intangible? How could I believe that a fairy tale is real?

“Oh, Christmas isn’t just a day, it’s a frame of mind… and that’s what’s been changing. That’s why I’m glad I’m here, maybe I can do something about it.” – Kris Kringle in Miracle on 34th Street 

This time of the year is filled with tradition and goodwill. Although the stress and heartache of December gets the best of plenty of people, we still find just a little scraping of love for others. An entire year, either filled with bounty or loss, leads up to small moments of charity. A smile, a hug, a thank you, a wave, or anything that signifies an ideal of “Hey, I want you to be happy,” makes all the difference in the world.

Even after the worst that 2016 has to offer, I can still reach into myself and find that I still love the life I have and the world I live in. I can look past all of the awful filth and horror of this world and appreciate a quiet wind or a pretty smile. The mere concept that an entire year of awful events can be ignored for just a few days so we can be nice to one another staggers me.

There isn’t a word for cumulative goodwill and happiness. There isn’t one thing we can call this feeling.

Just kidding, there’s always been a phrase for it. It has been looking us in the eye from day one. What combination of words could possibly evoke the entirety of the holiday season? Santa Claus. Santa Claus is that magic little something that makes everything seem just a little better.

I believe in Santa Claus. I always have believed in Santa Claus. I always will believe in Santa Claus.

Leave a Reply

