College Story Time #1

Last night I went out with my friend Brian to get some of my favorite things ever, Taco Bell hard shell tacos.

It was late, or early depending of your frame of reference, and the line was long. I let my thoughts drift to other things. Brian asked me what I wanted to order, since he drove, and I told him a regular Taco 12 Pack, might as well share what I love. So, we pull up to the speaker.

Speaker Voice #1: “Welcome to Taco Bell, may I please take your order.”

Brian: “Yeah, I’d like a Taco 12 Pack, please.”

Speaker Voice #1: “Okay th-”

Speaker Voice #2: “OH MY GOD!”

Speaker Voice #1: “That’ll be (insert arbitrary dollar amount here). Please pull to the first window.”

Brian and I begin to discuss what could have happened to cause such an outburst. I jokingly suggest that they ran out of tacos. We get to the window and here the cashier say, “I don’t want to tell him, you tell him.” So a guy leans out the window.

They had run out of tacos.

Beef anyway. Immediately I think, well I wouldn’t mind a substitute. Chicken or steak would do. Before I can even get the words out of my mouth I here him say, “And I know this sounds fuckin’ crazy, but we’ve run out of chicken and steak too. There are five tacos left, just give us a minute and you can have them for free.”

The window closes and Brian and I are flabbergasted. Suddenly, what I can only assume is a discontented customer, whips around us and crosses the street quickly to the McDonald’s drive thru. I get my tacos and get back to Brian’s place.

They were delicious.

Leave a Reply

