On Adam West

Back before I moved to this side of Murfreesboro, I lived in a little blue house. Every day, when I would come home from school, I would get a peanut butter sandwich and watch the 1966 version of Batman. That was Adam West. In the cartoons and shows I watched growing up, from Fairly Odd Parents to Goosebumps, I saw Adam West play the hero.

He was my favorite character in Family Guy and managed to do so without a single Batman reference. He was the Gray Ghost, the hero that inspired Kevin Conroy’s Batman. He played Thomas Wayne for Diedrich Bader’s Batman. Adam West was a kind-hearted man who could take a joke. He loved being lampooned on Mystery Science Theater 3000 and reveled in camp.

I am filled with sorrow at his passing. He was everywhere in my life and his work will live on, but he will be so tremendously missed. Adam West represented the Silver Age of Batman. An age where light heartedness and justice could be one and the same. Adam West was so much more than that though, but he thrived in it regardless.

Thank you. Thank you for always being you and not forcing yourself to change. Thank you for always bringing a smile to my face. Thank you for introducing me to Batman. Thank you for everything.

I will miss you.

Leave a Reply

